Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Author Topic: WME compatibility? Game will not start on 2 notebooks!  (Read 2220 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

!Errorcode!

  • Loader software
  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 129
  • www.loadersoftware.szm.com
    • View Profile
    • LOADER software
WME compatibility? Game will not start on 2 notebooks!
« on: November 25, 2015, 04:33:28 PM »

I have made a new adventure game, but there are few bugs which don't alow me to release that. This game is working good on my desktop computer, but on 2 other notebooks not. Laptops have both Windows 7 64bit and I just tryed to play the game on these 2 another machines and mine. Does WME have problems with play games on laptops? It seems, that on laptop WME doesn't load graphic card drivers.. What can I do?  :(

http://s1.postimg.org/e1k40c06n/bug1.png
Logged

eborr

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: WME compatibility? Game will not start on 2 notebooks!
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2015, 05:40:53 PM »

Not in my experience no, I have run wme compiled games on a whole range of computers including a 64 bit laptop.

I am guessing you are running in compiled mode and not through the project manager

I don't understand the error message but my guess is that for some reason that settings program cannot find some component that it is looking for. Once clue might be the use of fixed as opposed to relative addressing of assets -

Another might be that the program is expecting a dll that you have not copied across.

I don't know how you moved the program between computers, to my mind the best way to do this is zip up everything in the packages folder and unzip it on a new computer, and then run the game executable from within the new unzipped folder
Logged

!Errorcode!

  • Loader software
  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 129
  • www.loadersoftware.szm.com
    • View Profile
    • LOADER software
Re: WME compatibility? Game will not start on 2 notebooks!
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2015, 08:17:00 PM »

Hi, settings program can't find a graphic card driver, and that's the reason, why the 'OK' button is disabled and player can't continue. I have zipped a copy of game where are a few files - ,,game.exe" ,,settings.exe" "data.dcp". I think there is no DLL file to copy with that or? WME compiler hasn't made any to packages folder.
Logged

eborr

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: WME compatibility? Game will not start on 2 notebooks!
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2015, 08:07:41 PM »

A couple of diagnostic idea's for you.

I am assuming on the notebooks you are running the game in compiled mode ?

If not you could try to try to install the IDE and see what happens

If either case you have a look at the wme log file which is in the project directly, at the top of this it should give you some indication as to the problems with the hardware

Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5677
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: WME compatibility? Game will not start on 2 notebooks!
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2015, 12:20:35 PM »

Yes, enable logging and show us the log.
Also a dxdiag log would be helpful.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

!Errorcode!

  • Loader software
  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 129
  • www.loadersoftware.szm.com
    • View Profile
    • LOADER software
Re: WME compatibility? Game will not start on 2 notebooks!
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2015, 09:26:08 PM »

Mnemonic: Viac menej som sa snažil minimalizovať chyby ale podla mňa je už WME asi zastaralý. Ked som vydával (aj ked o dost menšie hry) hry v roku 2007 a 2008 nebol žiadny problém s kompatibilitou. Teraz to bolo utrpenie aby ta hra jak-tak fungovala, hlavne na notebookoch s menším rozlíšením hra nejde ako by mala - len v okne. Je to škoda, rád by som pokračoval v tvorbe na WME ale bojím sa do budúcna pri vačšom projekte a novších verziách Windowsu, že tam budú zase problémy :/
Logged

NAItReIN

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: WME compatibility? Game will not start on 2 notebooks!
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2015, 11:00:30 PM »

Quote
Viac menej som sa snažil minimalizovať chyby ale podla mňa je už WME asi zastaralý.
Prepáč, prosím, ale v žiadnom prípade nemôžem s týmto tvrdením súhlasiť. Keď som bol mladší a menej skúsený čo sa týka tvorby projektov prostredníctvom WME DevKit tiež som mal tendenciu vidieť chyby iba v nástrojoch a hernom engine, v žiadnom prípade nie v sebe samom. Potom sa však karta otočila. Problém nebol v nástrojoch a hernom engine, ale vo mne.

Quote
Teraz to bolo utrpenie aby ta hra jak-tak fungovala, hlavne na notebookoch s menším rozlíšením hra nejde ako by mala - len v okne.
Ťažko povedať v čom presne je problém. Možno by si mohol poskytnúť viacej relevantých informácií.

Quote
Je to škoda, rád by som pokračoval v tvorbe na WME ale bojím sa do budúcna pri vačšom projekte a novších verziách Windowsu, že tam budú zase problémy :/
Tento engine v sebe skrýva taký veľký potenciál, že ťa môžem uistiť v tom, že ho nemôžeš celý využiť. A ak máš obavy ohľadom WME, prečo neprejdeš na platené herné engine? Pozri si hry, ktoré boli vo WME vytvorené. Keď som to videl ja nechcelo sa mi veriť, že je to vôbec možné.
Ja osobne mám nainštalovaný Linux, konkrétne distribúciu Ubuntu 14.04 LTS. WME beží cez vrstvu Wine. Zvláštne, žiadne problémy som zatiaľ nezistil... :)

Prepáč, ak som to napísal tvrdo, ale ako som už spomenul, treba hľadať chybu najprv u seba, potom treba ísť von. Ja sa Mnemonicovi ani nedivím, že už nereaguje na príspevky tak aktívne ako kedysi. Prečo? Keď chce niekto niečo vyriešiť, mohol by sa posnažiť dotyčný sám, nie čakať na to, kedy to riešenie niekto napíše na fóre.
Keď to teda zhrniem, ja nemám strach o budúcnosť WME. Mám strach z toho, že ľudia nevedia s týmto geniálnym nástrojom narábať a tak skoro sa to asi nenaučia...
Logged

eborr

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: WME compatibility? Game will not start on 2 notebooks!
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2015, 11:21:54 PM »

Hi took the trouble of running the past couple of posts  through the google translate, I don't believe your problem  has anything to do with the compatibility of the engine with windows and it's newer versions, or the use of the latest tech. I run WME on a pretty much state of the art machine- with a X99 chipset an I7 extreme processor.  with windows 10 64 bit build. It also worked on this box with the vile windows 8, and it also works perfectly on my hp laptop which is an I5 with the latest version of the intel graphics.

Your problem lies elsewhere

Logged
 

Page created in 0.144 seconds with 22 queries.