Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

For WME related articles and tutorials visit WME Resource Center.

Author Topic: 3d restriction  (Read 3689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tinchopunk

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • martinarregui.tumblr.com
3d restriction
« on: December 05, 2004, 04:33:09 PM »

Ok I have my model in 3ds with cameras and lights...
But the character don´t move there (I know how to move etcetc)
is there any restriction for the 3ds model?
any tutorial or suggestion??
thanks
 MArtin
Logged

Nihil

  • Supporter
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 528
  • Fear me! I'm evil!
    • View Profile
    • Order of Dagon
Re: 3d restriction
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2004, 04:45:33 PM »

The character must be in Milkshape-format. 3ds is only for the scene-geometry.

gfx johnny

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
Re: 3d restriction
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2004, 04:52:43 PM »

I don't understand your question - do you want to animate a model inside 3dsmax without using it in wintermute, a general question about animation? Click here for a good tutorial without using character studio (bones and skin modifier). This tutorial exists in french, too (it'S the original one). If you want to use it in Wintermute, you need Milkshape i think.
Logged

tinchopunk

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • martinarregui.tumblr.com
Re: 3d restriction
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2004, 12:54:31 AM »

yeah... i know about modeling and i have the character already...
And the aswer i solved a few minutes ago... It was about what´s the size of the geometry etc etc...
Now my problem it´s the character it´s to big for my prerender background and geometry... (I make the background bigger, and all of that, mybe it´s the camera??)
thanks
 MArtin
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: 3d restriction
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2004, 07:52:21 AM »

MArtin,

in the actor definition file (.act3d) there is a line such as "SCALE = 180". Change the value to match the scale of your geometry. If your character is too big, use a value less than 100 (the value is in percent).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

tinchopunk

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • martinarregui.tumblr.com
Re: 3d restriction
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2004, 02:22:49 AM »

thanks i  solved...
  MArtin
Logged
 

Page created in 0.086 seconds with 24 queries.