Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

For WME related articles and tutorials visit WME Resource Center.

Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: The Lopez  (Read 9590 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tinchopunk

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • martinarregui.tumblr.com
The Lopez
« on: December 27, 2004, 04:08:17 AM »

Ok here are some screens of my game "The Lopez" (very early version)


http://tinchopunk.4t.com/thelopez.jpg
http://tinchopunk.4t.com/thelopez2.jpg
Logged

Candle

  • Guest
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2004, 04:41:13 AM »

They look cool ..
How long before it is done and can play ?
Logged

Nihil

  • Supporter
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 528
  • Fear me! I'm evil!
    • View Profile
    • Order of Dagon
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2004, 11:15:53 AM »

Hmmm .. I can't see the screenshots, it always say "remote linking forbidden" (even if I copy&paste the links)?

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1455
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2004, 01:03:38 PM »

@Nihil
The images work just fine here (using Firefox 1.0)

@tinchopunk
What I like the most is that you don't use the usual boring camera placement. I like the style you have chosen.
I hope to add some textures to those renderings. It will make them look much better.
Logged
fl*p

MMR

  • Global Moderator
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 349
  • http://mmrdeveloper.wordpress.com/
    • View Profile
    • TinyWME
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2004, 01:50:36 PM »

Good Work tinchopunk. As odnorf said, I hope you add some textures to the scenes  :)

BTW: What program did you use to create the backgrounds?? and to model the character??
Logged

tinchopunk

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • martinarregui.tumblr.com
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2004, 12:49:30 AM »

I made all with 3dstudio max 6...
Well i know some texture more i will make it´s a early beta screen...
But that the way of my art, thanks everybody for like it
(some day´s i will have a lot of more screens, and mybe a playable demo)
 Martin
Logged

Nihil

  • Supporter
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 528
  • Fear me! I'm evil!
    • View Profile
    • Order of Dagon
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2004, 10:56:57 AM »

Hey, now I can see them ... strange.

I like the character, has a bit of Grim Fandango-flair ... though I agree about the textures. But all in all it look very nice.

Are this already ingame-shots or is it rendered in 3ds Max?

tinchopunk

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • martinarregui.tumblr.com
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2004, 11:05:22 AM »

in game shots...
the character is in milkshape...
Martin
Logged

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2004, 04:20:24 AM »

in game shots...
the character is in milkshape...

Uff, well, you are fast using the 3d actors already, cool ! :)
Are you using those "simple shadows" for your actor by default or is it your graphic card falling back to them though?

Go on, go on.  8)
Logged
Mooh!

tinchopunk

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • martinarregui.tumblr.com
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2004, 03:16:44 AM »

i have NVIDIA TNT 2 32mb
i didn´t know that i can look better the shadow... explain me more, or tell me if that video card it´s old
thanks
 MArtin
Logged

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2004, 10:48:16 AM »

i have NVIDIA TNT 2 32mb
i didn´t know that i can look better the shadow... explain me more, or tell me if that video card it´s old

I already thought so... WME falls back to that simple shadow (which means, it uses just a simple PNG file, in the 3d demo it is "shadown.png" in the actor's directory) on older graphic cards and if I remember right, the TNT2 belongs to them. But you can also activate the "simple shadow" always, so please check your actor definition file (e.g. "actors/trinity/trinity.act3d") for the option "SIMPLE_SHADOW = TRUE" (or FALSE).

I could try to explain a lot, but it's easier for you to check the docs at "Inside a game -> 3D characters support -> Actor definition file". The supported real-time shadows use an additional light above the actor's head. If your "SIMPLE_SHADOW" option is set to FALSE and you still see this "black blob" instead of a real shadow, your graphic card unfortunately doesn't support them.
Logged
Mooh!

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2004, 12:31:53 PM »

Yes, unfortunately TNT2 doesn't support "projected textures" feature, which is used by WME to project real-time shadows therefore simple shadows are used instead. Also on newer cards players can turn on antialiasing for 3D characters. That's also unsupported on your card.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

tinchopunk

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • martinarregui.tumblr.com
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2005, 12:16:08 AM »

ok i have another card (SIS 661FX) that´s works???
thanks
 MArtin
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2005, 10:32:02 AM »

ok i have another card (SIS 661FX) that´s works???
I'm not familiar with this chip, but you can try it. WME 3D characters demo should display projected shadows by default. Also, if the card supports antialiasing, this option will appear in the startup settings window.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2005, 10:35:05 AM by Mnemonic »
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

tinchopunk

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • martinarregui.tumblr.com
Re: The Lopez
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2005, 03:07:36 AM »

another screens

Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All
 

Page created in 0.045 seconds with 24 queries.